THE CONFIRMATION OF PROFESSOR DAN SVYANTEK IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR

DUTIES OF THE IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR

Immediate Past Chair is elected to serve a three-year term, first as chair-elect, then chair and then immediate past chair.

- serves as a member of the University Faculty Executive Committee. (Faculty Constitution)
- serves as a member of the Rules Committee and the Steering Committee. (Senate Constitution)
- serves as a non-voting advisory member of the Board of Trustees. (Section 2.09 for Bylaws of the Board of Trustees).

NO GUIDANCE ON REPLACING THE IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR

There are procedures in place on replacing chair-elect, chair, secretary and secretary-elect positions, but **no procedures** or guidance for replacing Immediate Past Chair.

Article 3, Section 3 (faculty constitution). Vacancies: Should a vacancy occur in either the office of chair or secretary, the chair elect or secretary-elect shall assume the duties of the vacant office. Should a vacancy occur in either the office of chair-elect or secretary-elect before January 1, the Executive Committee shall appoint a Nominating Committee of six members to present two names for the vacant office. These names shall be sent to the membership in advance of a special meeting of the University Faculty. An election to fill the vacant position shall then be held prior to the special meeting in accordance with the procedures spelled out in Article 3, Section 2. Should a vacancy occur after January 1 in either the office of chair-elect or secretary-elect, the vacancy shall not be filled, but the duties of the office shall be performed by a person nominated by the Senate Rules Committee and approved by the University Senate.

Since there are no guidelines or policies on replacing an Immediate Past Chair and this is an unprecedented event in the AU Event, we had to do our due diligence to develop a fair and reasonable process.

THE NOMINATION PROCESS

- The only people who qualified are the past chairs still employed at Auburn University (since they were elected and have gone through the chair-elect, chair and past chair positions), a total of five past chairs qualified (one of which was Todd Steury, who stepped down).
- We consulted with the last five past chairs, including Todd Steury, who stepped down as Immediate Past Chair about the process. Here is a list of all past chairs, <u>1968-present_Chairs-Secretaries (auburn.edu)</u>.
- Out of the past five Past Chairs, Professor Dan Svyantek, who was Chair in 2017 and Immediate past-chair in 2018, was the only past chair willing to serve.
- Timeliness was especially important since we need a representative to serve on the Board of Trustees (BOT) immediately, so we went through a confirmation process and Dr. Svyantek was confirmed.

THE CONFIRMATION PROCESS

STEP 1: Nomination by the Senate Executive Committee (unanimous vote)

STEP 2: Confirmation by the Senate Steering Committee (unanimous vote)

STEP 3: Confirmation by the Senate Rules Committee (unanimous vote)

Dr. Dan Svyantek, Department of Psychological Sciences, is now serving as Immediate Past Chair.

Thank you, Dan!