UNIVERSITY SENATE DEI COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

- Faculty: One faculty member from each academic college
- Continuing/Ex-officio:
- Vice President and Associate Provost for Inclusion and Diversity Director of the Office of Affirmative Action/Equal Employment Opportunity Provost (or designee) Vice President of University Outreach (or designee) Vice President of Student Affairs (or designee) Associate VP for Human Resources (or designee)
- Restrictions: The chairperson of the committee shall be a faculty member.

UNIVERSITY SENATE DEI COMMITTEE

 This committee shall be responsible for advocating for diversity, equity, and inclusion across the university. It shall communicate feedback on current policies and offer recommendations for improvements and new initiatives to the Office of Inclusion and Diversity, Student affairs, and to deans. It shall perform continuous monitoring and make regular reports to the Senate on institutional data and assessments, issues related to Affirmative Action and Equal Employment Opportunity compliance, and the implementation and outcomes of inclusion, equity, and diversity initiatives in the university.

UNIVERSITY SENATE COMMITTEE

- Chair, Melody Russell
- <u>Taffye Clayton</u>, Vice-President and Associate Provost for Inclusion and Diversity Continuing
- <u>Kelley G. Taylor</u>, Director of the Office of Affirmative Action/Equal Employment Opportunity– Continuing
- <u>**TBD</u>**, Provost (or designee)– Continuing</u>
- <u>Venus Hewing</u>, Vice-President for University Outreach Continuing
- **<u>Bobby Woodard</u>**, Vice-President for Student Affairs (or designee) Continuing
- Kristine Ball, Associate VP for Human Resources (or designee)– Continuing

UNIVERSITY SENATE DEI COMMITTEE

- Virginia Davis, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering 2023
- Maria Soledad Peresin, College of Forestry, Wildlife, and the Environment- 2023
- Mary Katherine (Kate) Thornton, College of Human Sciences– 2023
- Gilad Sorek, College of Liberal Arts-2023
- <u>Tiffani Chidume</u>, College of Nursing 2024
- Melody Russell, College of Education- 2024
- **Stephanie Shepherd**, College of Sciences and Mathematics 2024
- Bruce Smith, College of Veterinary Medicine- 2024
- Nathaniel Hardy, College of Agriculture 2025
- Jennifer Pindyck, College of Architecture, Design, and Construction-2025

UNIVERSITY SENATE DEI COMMITTEE

- Jeremy Wolter, Harbert College of Business 2025
- Miranda Reed, Harrison College of Pharmacy 2025
- Adelia Grabowsky, Libraries 2025
 - **Brandon Belser** undergraduate student representative 2023
 - John David Barnett undergraduate student representative 2023
 - Kaniz Afroz Tanni graduate student representative 2023

UNIVERSITY SENATE INCLUSIVE EXCELLENCE AWARD

- Award Description
- Award Criteria
- Eligibility
- Application Process
- Nomination Process
- Application Timeline

AWARD DESCRIPTION

 The University Senate Inclusive Excellence Award acknowledges and honors individuals, teams, departments and/or units, colleges, committees and organizations across campus that have demonstrated exemplary achievements and significant contributions to institutional transformation through inclusive excellence and diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) efforts. This award is an annual, non-renewable award to recognize distinguished accomplishments and existing efforts, and demonstrated commitment to advancing and exemplifying inclusive excellence in their units, departments, colleges or Auburn University and the surrounding community as a whole.

AWARD CRITERIA

 All units, departments, colleges, committees and organizations at Auburn University are eligible to be nominated for this award. Individuals, teams, departments and/or units may be nominated or self-nominate.

ELIGIBILITY

 All full-time faculty, staff, administrators, students, committees and organizations at Auburn University are eligible for nomination. Any members of the university community may nominate candidates for this award. Only one nomination per college, unit, or organization will be considered.

- The following categories are eligible for nominations:
- 1) Full-time faculty
- 2) Full-time staff and administrators
- 3) Full-time undergraduate and graduate students
- Academic units, administrative units, committees and organizations at Auburn University (e.g. AU student organizations, Alumni organizations)

AWARD FUNDING

• Awards will be announced on April 15 of each year and presented at the Faculty Awards Recognition ceremony. There will be a monetary award in the amount of \$10,000.00 to be distributed to an individual award recipient or for groups, teams, or collaborations, award funds will be distributed to the appropriate unit, or college to be used to further efforts for inclusive excellence. In some cases, with multiple individuals as nominees (e.g. coauthors) funds may be divided among individuals (no more than three). If more than three individuals are in a team or collaboration funds will be distributed to the unit, department, or college. In the event that the collaboration is across multiple departments the nomination materials must designate a lead unit, department, or college where funds are to be dispersed.

OFFICE OF THE PROVOST

-This awards program will be administered by the University Senate DEI committee and will be housed in the AU Office of Inclusion and Diversity.

-This award will be funded through the Provost's office at the amount of \$10k per year for a maximum of 3 years (2023, 2024 and 2025).

-No additional funds (for staffing, events, communication materials etc) will be funded through the Provost's office.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME

QUESTIONS?